BOTM: May Picks

BOTM

Hey there readers! 

Welcome to another Book of the Month post where I share with you what I chose for my Book of the Month box. 

Now, if you are not familiar with BOTM, it’s a monthly subscription box where you can choose up to three books! The first book is included and the other two books, called add-on’s, are just $9.99 each. 

The only time I won’t write up one of these posts is if I decide to skip a month, which is what I did for April. 

I decided to switch things up a little bit, and instead of sharing all of the synopsis for all of the book options I am going to just share the synopsis’ for the books I chose, and then I will link the other books. 


BOTM MAY BOOK

How to Not Die Alone by Richard Roper 

42584179.jpg

SYNOPSIS
Andrew’s day-to-day is a little grim, searching for next of kin for those who die alone. Thankfully, he has a loving family waiting for him when he gets home, to help wash the day’s cares away. At least, that’s what his coworkers believe.

Andrew didn’t mean for the misunderstanding to happen, yet he’s become trapped in his own white lie. The fantasy of his wife and two kids has become a pleasant escape from his lonely one bedroom with only his Ella Fitzgerald records for company. But when new employee Peggy breezes into his life like a breath of fresh air, Andrew is shaken out of his routine. She doesn’t notice the wall he’s been safely hiding behind and their friendship promises to break it down.

Andrew must choose: Does he tell the truth and start really living his life, but risk losing his friendship with Peggy? Or will he stay safe and alone, behind the façade? How Not to Die Alone is about the importance of taking a chance in those moments when we have the most to lose. Sharp and funny, warm and real, it’s the kind of big-hearted story we all need.

 

I had a tough time choosing a book for May. I wasn’t interested in April’s book picks so I skipped, but there were some add-on books that I knew I wanted to get so I forced myself to pick something for this month. 

After going back and forth I decided to pick How to Not Die Alone by Richard Roper. It’s a debut contemporary fiction novel being pitched as perfect for fans of Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine.  I didn’t get too far into Eleanor before putting it down so I am a bit nervous for my choice, but I did read the excerpt and laughed. 

 

 

Other BOTM Options
The Bride Test by Helen Hoang
The Flight Portfolio by Julie Orringer
Necessary People by Anna Pitoniak
The Buried: An Archaeology of the Egyptian Revolution by Peter Hessler 

 

 


BOTM ADD-ON'S 

30295312

Add-on Book #1 — The Red Scrolls of Magic by Cassandra Clare and Wesley Chu 

SYNOPSIS
All Magnus Bane wanted was a vacation—a lavish trip across Europe with Alec Lightwood, the Shadowhunter who against all odds is finally his boyfriend. But as soon as the pair settles in Paris, an old friend arrives with news about a demon-worshipping cult called the Crimson Hand that is bent on causing chaos around the world. A cult that was apparently founded by Magnus himself. Years ago. As a joke.

Now Magnus and Alec must race across Europe to track down the Crimson Hand and its elusive new leader before the cult can cause any more damage. As if it wasn’t bad enough that their romantic getaway has been sidetracked, demons are now dogging their every step, and it is becoming harder to tell friend from foe. As their quest for answers becomes increasingly dire, Magnus and Alec will have to trust each other more than ever—even if it means revealing the secrets they’ve both been keeping.

 

I noticed last month when BOTM adds a new month’s worth of books they also add new add-on books as well. AND GUESS WHAT THEY ADDED FOR MAY?! Yep, Cassandra Clare’s new book, The Red Scrolls of Magic. Clare co-authored the book with Wesley Chu, and it’s the first book in a new series that specifically follows Magnus and Alec — two characters from her Mortal Instruments series. 

I had originally pre-ordered the book, but cancelled the pre-order so I could pay off some of my loans. Adulting, it sucks. At only 350 pages, it seems like it could be one of the smallest books Clare has written within the Shadowhunter Chronicles world — if not the shortest one. 

I have to double check, but I believe this book is set during the same timeline as City of Fallen Angels — the 4th book of the Mortal Instrument series. I’ve seen some other bloggers saying to read or re-read Lady Midnight before reading this, but I think I’m just going to dive right in.  I am a little hesitant to read this, because shocker, Magnus and Alec are not my favorite characters so reading an entire book with them as the main focus makes me wonder if I’ll enjoy it as much as Clare’s other works. We’ll see! 

 

 

41219451Add-on Book #2 — Descendant of the Crane by Joan He

SYNOPSIS
Princess Hesina of Yan has always been eager to shirk the responsibilities of the crown, but when her beloved father is murdered, she’s thrust into power, suddenly the queen of an unstable kingdom. Determined to find her father’s killer, Hesina does something desperate: she engages the aid of a soothsayer—a treasonous act, punishable by death… because in Yan, magic was outlawed centuries ago.

Using the information illicitly provided by the sooth, and uncertain if she can trust even her family, Hesina turns to Akira—a brilliant investigator who’s also a convicted criminal with secrets of his own. With the future of her kingdom at stake, can Hesina find justice for her father? Or will the cost be too high?

In this shimmering Chinese-inspired fantasy, debut author Joan He introduces a determined and vulnerable young heroine struggling to do right in a world brimming with deception.

 

I remember reading about this book late last year and knew it would be on the top of my list to read. One of my best friends is reading it right now and she is loving it! From what I have seen from early reviews, Descendant, is more of a political fantasy vs. an action/fighting fantasy. For me, this makes me want to read it even more, but I understand it’s not going to be everyone’s cup of tea. 


 

 Are you a BOTM subscriber? If so, I’d love to hear what you picked for May!

 

new signature (1)

9 thoughts on “BOTM: May Picks

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s